Follow me in the rain of Istanbul

“I always like walking in the rain, so no one can see me crying.”
― Charles Chaplin 

Following my newborn tradition, I visited Istanbul again this year. Unlike previous years, I decided to combine sightseeing with one more pleasant and useful activity, such as attending 34th Istanbul Film Festival as a photographer and a blogger, accredited media representative. We enjoyed the Festival and films very much, while at the same time we were wandering around the old streets of Istanbul, full of surprises and authentic diversity.

I didn’t have much time to get immersed into the non-stop wilderness of street photography, though I still made some shots by my new film camera Nikon F3.

Rain was not much familiar for me in Istanbul. This year we were “lucky” with sudden rains. No problem if you are out during sudden rains, umbrella vendors appear in the streets like mushrooms after the rain. In every corner, a vendor offers you smart umbrellas, useful just for single rain shot; these umbrellas are all the same, you do not have choice, as you have no time to choose, while standing in the rain and getting totally wet…

So here are some analog photos from the streets, this is neither flashmob, nor a kind of street performance, it is Istanbul in the rain.

istanbul rain

umbrella vendor

istiklal rain

night photography

wallnuts vendor

Leave a Reply

